The Records division maintains all of the records for; individuals that are booked into the jail, officer’s investigative reports, accident reports, sex offender registry and issues permits to acquire and carry handguns. 

Please note that our office only accepts CASH or CHECK. An ATM is available in the lobby. We DO NOT accept debit or credit cards.
 

Street Address:
511 S Capitol St 
Iowa City, IA 52240
 

Mailing Address:
PO Box 2540 
Iowa City, IA 52244 

Phone:
319-356-6020, ext. 3 

Fax:
319-688-8959 

Office Hours:
Monday – Friday (except county holidays), 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM 

Firearm Permits

Applications will be accepted Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:30 am and 4:30 pm excluding county holidays.

After we receive your completed permit application, we will conduct the necessary background checks. Then the permit goes to the Sheriff to approve or deny. After approval, it will be sent electronically to the State of Iowa for printing and they will mail it out to you. If denied, you will receive a letter stating why and how to appeal that decision.

Anyone living in or on University of Iowa property must check university campus laws in reference to handguns ( UI Department of Public Safety website). 

Iowa Permit to Acquire Pistols or Revolvers (5-year permit)

  • If you have a Permit to Carry, you do not need a Permit to Acquire.
  • You must be 21 years of age or older to apply.
  • You must be a resident of Johnson County to apply in Johnson County.
  • The fee for processing a Permit to Acquire is $25.00.  This fee is non-refundable and may be paid with cash or check.  There is no discounted fee when renewing this type of permit.
  • You must provide a valid ID or driver’s license issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation showing your current physical address. Iowa law requires you to update your address with the Iowa DOT within 30 days of moving.
    • If the ID or driver’s license does not have your current physical address, you must bring a printout of a current utility bill showing your name and the utility’s address.
  • If you are not a US Citizen, you must bring in a copy of your I-94 paperwork or your permanent resident (green) card. You will also need to include proof of a valid hunting license, if applicable.
  • Application requires a minimum of three working days to process.
  • Approved permits will be mailed to the applicant from the State of Iowa in the form of a plastic card.

Application for Iowa Permit to Acquire
 

Iowa Non-Professional Permit to Carry (5-year permit)

New Permits

  • You must be 21 years of age or older to apply.
  • You must be a resident of Johnson County to apply in Johnson County.
  • The fee for processing a new permit to carry is $50.00. This fee is non-refundable and may be paid with cash or check.
  • You must provide a valid ID or driver’s license issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation showing your current physical address. Iowa law requires you to update your address with the Iowa DOT within 30 days of moving.
    • If the ID or driver’s license does not have your current physical address, you must bring a printout of a current utility bill showing your name and the utility’s address.
  • You will need to have physical documentation of required training (see Iowa Code 724.9). Or your expired permit to carry issued after 1/1/2011 to be training exempt.
  • If you are not a US Citizen, you must bring in a copy of your I-94 paperwork or your permanent resident (green) card. You will also need to include proof of a valid hunting license, if applicable.
  • The permit will be mailed to you from the State of Iowa in the form of a plastic card. 

Application for Iowa Permit to Carry
 

Renewal Permits

  • To renew your current permit you have a 60 day window. You will need to present the application no sooner than 30 days prior to your current permit’s expiration date, up to 30 days after the expiration date. Anything outside this 60 day window will be considered a new permit (see above).
  • No additional training is needed to renew.
  • You and will need to provide a copy of your current/expired Permit to Carry and will be training exempt.
  • You must be a resident of Johnson County to apply in Johnson County.
  • The fee for processing a renewal permit to carry is $25.00. This fee is non-refundable and may be paid with cash or check.
  • You must provide a valid ID or driver’s license issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation showing your current physical address. Iowa law requires you to update your address with the Iowa DOT within 30 days of moving.
    •  If the ID or driver’s license does not have your current physical address, you must bring a printout of a current utility bill showing your name and the utility’s address.
  • If you are not a US Citizen, you must bring in a copy of your I-94 paperwork or your permanent resident (green) card. You will also need to include proof of a valid hunting license, if applicable.
  • The permit will be mailed to you from the State of Iowa in the form of a plastic card.

Application for Iowa Permit to Carry
 

For information on Professional Permits, please contact our office.
 

Important Links Regarding Firearms

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Weapons Permit Law Changes in 2017
Chapter 724 of the Iowa Code 
Link to Iowa DPS Weapons Permit Page

Accident Reports

If the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office was the investigating agency on an auto accident, copies of the accident report are available upon request in person or in writing to parties involved in the accident or their designated insurance agent or legal representative.

  • The requester will be required to provide date and location of the accident
  • No fax or phone requests will be accepted
  • Mailed requests require a self-addressed stamped envelope for return
  • Fee per accident report is $5.00

Fingerprints

Fingerprinting services are provided on Tuesdays ONLY from 9:00am to 4:00pm. Please call 319-356-6020, ext. 3 to schedule an appointment.

  • A valid, government issued, photo ID is required.
  • The fee is $20.00 - Cash Only
  • Average fingerprinting session takes between 10-15 minutes depending on wait time
  • Please do not fill out (or highlight) the print cards before you arrive
  • Our LiveScan machine will print out your information on the print cards

Records Check

The Johnson County Sheriff's Office will check Johnson County Jail's public information records upon written request by the public or in person. Information provided to the requester includes date of arrest, arresting agency, and charges, ONLY. No charge disposition will be provided and this only covers if the person was brought to the Johnson County Jail.

Should you require a records check with a disposition and that covers the entire State of Iowa, contact the DCI in Des Moines at this website.

  • Fee per request being searched is $5.00. (Requests for additional names on the same individual are considered separately)
  • Records checks require full name and date of birth of the person for which the search is being requested
  • No fax or phone requests will be accepted
  • Mailed requests require a self-addressed stamped envelope for return
  • Requests made by the armed forces can be faxed directly to us or can be faxed to the local recruiter who should then bring the request to the Sheriff’s Office

Records Requests

  • If you would like a copy of a record (other than an accident or case report), the fee is $0.50 per page
  • The request can be made in person or mailed with payment and a self-addressed stamped envelope. If it takes more than 15 minutes to compile information for your request, we may bill you $12/hour for the time it will take us

Sex Offender Registry

To find out if an individual is on the sex offender registry, visit the Iowa Sex Offender website.

If you are on the sex offender registry and live or work in Johnson County you must come into the office and speak with the records division to make changes within 5 business days. We will not accept changes via e-mail.

Map of 2,000 Residency Restriction Zones can be found here.