ECR Logo

 The Mental Health/Disability Services of the East Central Region (ECR) was formed under Iowa Code Chapter 28E to create a mental health and disability service region in compliance with Iowa Code 331.390.  The Region serves Benton, Bremer, Buchanan, Delaware, Dubuque, Iowa, Johnson, Jones and Linn counties. Each of the nine counties has a local access office where people may apply for service funding, receive referrals, and get questions answered.

The ECR will maintain a Regional Management Plan designed to improve health, hope, and successful outcomes for adults in our region who have brain health challenges and/or intellectual/developmental disabilities, including those with multi-occurring substance use issues, health issues, physical disabilities, brain injuries, and other complex human service needs.

Our Mission
The mission of the ECR is to collaboratively strengthen the regional network of quality and accessible supports to meet the needs of adults and children with disabilities.

Our Vision
The vision of ECR is to ensure a responsive system that:

  • Honors the complexity of a region with urban and rural counties.
  • Adapts to the changing legislative landscape to advocate for stable and predictable funding.
  • Continues to be forward-thinking while ensuring fiscal responsibility.
  • Demonstrates acceptance and value of all citizens to promote developmentally responsive support and mental wellness.

Where Can I Apply in Johnson County?

An application for service funding can be obtained at Johnson County MHDS office during regular business hours, or requested by telephone or email, or downloaded from our county website or the ECR website.

Johnson County MH/DS
855 S. Dubuque St.
Suite 202B
Iowa City, IA 52240


Click here for the application

Click here to view the Notice of Privacy Practices