Birth Record Application Form
Attorney Proof of Entitlement
- Complete the Application form
- Application must be NOTARIZED
- Include copy of valid PHOTO ID
- Include the certified copy cost: $15
Johnson County Recorder
Attn: Vital Records
913 S Dubuque St
Iowa City, IA 52240-4273
A vital record can also be ordered by calling: 1-866-809-0290
Exchange of Wallet Card: Any pink/blue wallet sized certificates issued between 1993—2009 can be exchanged for no fee. Follow instructions for completing the Application for search of vital record. The original pink/blue wallet birth certificate must be returned along with a completed application and proof of ID.
Birth records begin at the year 1880. Certified copies are $15 and only available to entitled parties (i.e. parents, children, spouses, siblings and grandparents). Individuals requesting a birth record must prove entitlement by showing proper identification. Birth events from 1986—current can be issued in any county. Birth events from 1880—1986 must be obtained through the county where the event occurred. County registrars do not have records of single-parent births prior to Jan 1, 1988; adoptions; delayed registrations; legal changes of name; or any record ordered sealed by a court of law.
Birth records between the years 1921 – 1941 must be requested through the Iowa Department of Public Health here.