Final list

Federal, State, and County Partisan Offices

Most candidates for federal, state, and county partisan offices were nominated in the June 7, 2022 Democratic and Republican primaries.

The Democratic and Republican parties were able to nominate candidates to fill ballot vacancies at party conventions. The deadlines were August 24 for state and federal office and August 31 for county office.

Originally deadlines for candidates representing no party or other parties were set as March 18 for federal and state offices, and March 25 for county partisan offices and township offices. Under a court ruling, candidates of other political organizations were given an extended filing period.

  • August 1 to 27: Federal and state office, file with Secretary of State.
  • August 8 to 31: County office, file with Auditor's Office.

Federal Offices

U.S. Senator (six year term)

Chuck Grassley, Republican Party
31705 Westbrook St
Cedar Falls, IA 50613

Michael Franken, Democratic Party
PO Box 13401
Des Moines, IA 50310
[email protected]

U.S. Representative, 1st District (two year term)

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Republican Party
11674 90th St,
Ottumwa, IA 52501
[email protected]

Christina Bohannan, Democratic Party
1725 Windsor Ct
Iowa City, IA 52245
[email protected]

Statewide Offices

(All terms four years)

Governor and Lt. Governor

Kim Reynolds and Adam Gregg, Republican Party
PO Box 1775
Des Moines, IA 50305
[email protected]

Deidre DeJear and Eric Van Lancker, Democratic Party
PO Box 35503
Des Moines, IA 50315
[email protected]

Rick Stewart and Marco Battaglia, Libertarian Party
855 Camburn Ct SE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52403
[email protected]

Secretary of State

Paul D. Pate, Republican Party
300 Walnut St #79
Des Moines, IA, 50309
[email protected]

Joel Miller, Democratic Party
375 Phaeton Dr
Robins, IA 52328
[email protected]

Auditor of State

Todd Halbur, Republican Party
15582 Wildwood Dr
Clive, IA 50325
[email protected]

Rob Sand, Democratic Party
PO Box 8382
Des Moines, IA 50301
[email protected]

Treasurer of State

Roby Smith, Republican Party
2036 E 48th St,
Davenport, IA 52807
[email protected]

Michael L. Fitzgerald, Democratic Party
1315 Crestview Dr
Carlisle, IA 50047
[email protected]

Secretary of Agriculture

Mike Naig, Republican Party
PO Box 93851
Des Moines, IA 50393
[email protected]

John Norwood, Democratic Party
1611 Green Branch Cir
West Des Moines, IA 50265
[email protected]

Attorney General

Brenna Bird, Republican Party
PO Box 7
Dexter, IA 50070
[email protected]

Tom Miller, Democratic Party
213 28th St
Des Moines, IA 50312

State Senators

District 43 (four year term) map

Zach Wahls, Democratic Party
1507 Winterpark Dr
Coralville, IA 52241
[email protected]

District 45 (four year term) map

Harold R. Weilbrenner, Republican Party
1525 California Ave
Iowa City, IA 52240

Janice Weiner, Democratic Party
2525 Mayfield Rd
Iowa City, IA 52245
[email protected]

District 46 (two year term due to two incumbent Senators living in the district following redistricting) map

Dawn Driscoll, Republican Party
2405 K Ave
Williamsburg, IA 52361
[email protected]

Kevin Kinney, Democratic Party
4321 Calkins Ave SW
Oxford, IA 52322
[email protected]

State Representatives

(All terms two years)

District 85 map

Wayne Grell, Republican Party
1075 W Forevergreen Rd
North Liberty, IA 52317
[email protected]

Amy Nielsen, Democratic Party
168 Lockmoor Cir
North Liberty, IA 52317
[email protected]

Jacob Wenck, Libertarian Party
505 Penn Ct Apt. 12
North Liberty, IA 52317
[email protected]

District 86 map

Dave Jacoby, Democratic Party
2308 N Ridge Dr
Coralville, IA 52241
[email protected]

District 89 map

Jacob Onken, Republican Party
1048 Langenberg Ave
Iowa City, IA 52240
[email protected]

Elinor A. Levin, Democratic Party
781 Sandusky Dr
Iowa City, IA 52240
[email protected]

District 90 map

Adam Zabner, Democratic Party
730 N Van Buren St
Iowa City, IA 52245
[email protected]

District 91 map

Brad Sherman, Republican Party
2490 Heritage Dr
Williamsburg, IA 52361
[email protected]

Elle Wyant, Democratic Party
1514 M Ave
Marengo, IA 52301
[email protected]

District 92 map

Heather Hora, Republican Party
2509 200th St
Washington, IA 52353
[email protected]

Eileen Beran, Democratic Party
809 13th St
Kalona, IA 52247
[email protected]

County Offices

(All terms four years)

Board of Supervisors, two seats

Jammie Bradshaw, Republican Party
5555 520th St SE
Lone Tree IA 52755
[email protected]

Phil Hemingway, Republican Party
5740 Highway 6 SE
West Liberty IA 52776
[email protected]

V Fixmer-Oraiz, Democratic Party
437 S Governor St
Iowa City, IA 52240
[email protected]

Jon Green, Democratic Party
5919 Sand Rd SE
Lone Tree, IA 52755
[email protected]

Eric Heick
5685 380th St SE
West Branch IA 52358
[email protected]

County Attorney

Rachel Zimmermann Smith, Democratic Party
1240 Teg Dr
Mail: 450 Hwy 1 W #144
Iowa City, IA 52246
[email protected]

County Recorder

Kim Painter, Democratic Party
1029 Kirkwood Ave
Iowa City, IA 52240
[email protected]

County Treasurer

Scott Finlayson, Democratic Party
305 West Side Dr
Iowa City, IA 52246
[email protected]

County Non-Partisan Offices

Filing deadline August 31 for Soil and Water Conservation Commission and Agricultural Extension Council.

Agricultural Extension Council, Five seats, four year terms; one seat, two year term to fill vacancy.

Four year term candidates:

Brent Bonner
210 Lehigh Ave
North Liberty, IA 52317
[email protected]

Houston Harreld
2922 Sweet Briar Ave
Iowa City, IA 52245
[email protected]

Scott Ritter
5060 James Ave SW
Kalona, IA 52247
[email protected]

Elsa Schmidt
2825 Black Diamond Rd SW
Iowa City, IA 52240
[email protected]

Tanner Stutsman
3436 500th St SW
Iowa City, IA 52240
[email protected]

Two year term candidates:

Jenny Lichty
252 Sierra Park Dr
Hills, IA 52235
[email protected]

Soil and Water Conservation Commission: Two seats for full four year terms, two seats for two year terms to fill vacancies.

Four year term candidates:

Ed Ruppenkamp
3776 Highway 1 SW
Iowa City, IA 52240
[email protected]

Travis Spevacek
5140 Morse Rd NE
Iowa City, IA 52240
[email protected]

Two year term candidates:

Michael T Donovan
4745 Sand Rd SE
Iowa City IA 52240
[email protected]

Thomas W Schott
5620 Oak Crest Hill Rd SE
Riverside, IA 52327
[email protected]

Township Offices

All rural townships will elect a clerk and one trustee to four year terms. Some townships may elect a second trustee to a two year term to fill a vacancy. Due to a recent court decision, filing will re-open August 8 to 31. File with Auditor's Office.

List of Township Candidates

Judicial retention

Yes or no for judges to remain in office.

Supreme Court
Dana L. Oxley
Matthew McDermott

Court of Appeals
Gina Badding
Paul B. Ahlers

District 6

District Court:
Valerie L. Clay
Chad A. Kepros
Justin A. Lightfoot
Kevin McKeever
Sean W. McPartland
Ian K. Thornhill
Lars G. Anderson
Christopher Bruns

District Associate:
Heidi A. Carmer
Carrie K. Bryner
Jason A. Burns

Ballot issue: Iowa State Constitutional Amendment

Shall the following amendment to the Constitution be adopted?


Summary: Provides that the right of the people of Iowa to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. The sovereign state of Iowa affirms and recognizes the right to keep and bear arms as a fundamental right. Any and all restrictions of this right shall be subject to strict scrutiny.

Full Text:

Article I of the Constitution of the State of Iowa is amended by adding the following new section: Right to keep and bear arms. Sec. 1A. The right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. The sovereign state of Iowa affirms and recognizes this right to be a fundamental individual right. Any and all restrictions of this right shall be subject to strict scrutiny.