Following each census and redistricting, cities and counties are required to review and redraw precinct boundaries. New precincts will take effect January 15, 2022. The first scheduled election with new precincts is the June 7, 2022 primary, though special elections may occur before that date.

Final decisions on new precincts will be made by city councils and, for rural Johnson County, by the Board of Supervisors. Decisions on polling places are made by the Auditor. The Auditor's Office is working closely with cities and the Board to produce draft plans.

Precincts may not have a census population greater than 3,500, and cannot cross legislative district lines. The following precincts were over the population limit:

  • Iowa City 5, 7, 11, 12 and 24
  • Coralville 1
  • North Liberty 3 and 6
  • City of Tiffin

Our first drafts were sent to cities on November 17.  North Liberty was sent three additional plans on November 19. Plan labels (A, B, C) are for identification only. Maps will be updated as additional drafts are sent to cities.

Interactive Maps

Printable .pdf maps

Iowa City: The city has indicated they would like 27 precincts, an increase from 24 precincts last decade.

Coralville: Plans include eight precincts. Last decade Coralville had seven precincts.

North Liberty: The city is considering plans with seven and eight precincts. Last decade North Liberty had six precincts.

Seven precinct plans:

Eight precinct plans:

  • Plan D
  • Plan E - On November 23 the North Liberty City Council decided to draft an ordinance based on this plan. Plan is not final until ordinance is approved.
  • Plan F

Tiffin: Has historically been one precinct, but population growth requires at least two precincts.

Information on legislative redistricting at Iowa Legislature site