# What you need to know about fireworks in Johnson County

## Fireworks displays in Johnson County

It is illegal to set off fireworks anywhere in unincorporated areas of Johnson County without a permit. Any person intending to set off certain fireworks in the unincorporated areas of Johnson County must obtain a permit from the Board of Supervisors. Displays within the limits of an incorporated municipality are governed by the ordinances of that city, not the Board of Supervisors.

A signed application must be accompanied by:

- Evidence of operator certification
- Diagram of the shoot site
- Proof of insurance
- \$40 application fee

Completed applications should be submitted to the Board of Supervisors Office at least 14 days before the anticipated display. It is recommended that applicants notify their local fire department and the Johnson County Sheriff's Office prior to the date of the display. All permits are suspended in the event of a burn notice issued for Johnson County by the State Fire Marshall.



#### **Johnson County Board of Supervisors**

County Administration Building Board Office - 2nd floor 913 S. Dubuque Street, Iowa City

Phone: 319-356-6000

Email: applications@co.johnson.ia.us

## Fireworks sales and storage in Johnson County

Retail sale, wholesale, and storage of consumer and/or display fireworks in the unincorporated areas of Johnson County must be located on parcels zoned MH-Heavy Industrial, as defined by the Unified Development Ordinance. Contact Johnson County Planning, Development and Sustainability department regarding questions related to the sale of consumer and/or display fireworks.

### Johnson County Planning, Development and Sustainability

**County Administration Building** 

2nd Floor

913 S. Dubuque Street, Iowa City

Phone: 319-356-6083 Fax: 319-356-6084

Email: pds@co.johnson.ia.us

For fireworks displays, sales, or storage within the limits of an incorporated municipality in Johnson County, contact the appropriate city hall or fire department. Johnson County incorporated municipalities include Coralville, Iowa City, Hills, Lone Tree, North Liberty, Oxford, Shueyville, Solon, Swisher, Tiffin, and University Heights.

For more information, including an application for a fireworks permit, visit www.johnson-county.com/fireworks