November 3, 2020 General Election

Guide to Election Returns

On Tuesday, November 3, the Johnson County Auditor’s Office will report turnout statistics throughout the day. Following the close of the polls at 9 p.m., we will post election returns.

Links to returns and turnout will be placed directly on our home page


Follow @jcauditor for fast and frequent updates through the day and on election night.

Turnout Updates

Precincts will report turnout at 9 a.m., 11 a.m., 3 p.m. and 6 p.m. Turnout by precinct will be posted at these times.

Turnout percentages during Election Day will reflect Election Day voting only and will not include early voting. For more information on early voting visit our early voting statistics page.

Registration totals are as of end of the day October 31. Election Day Registrations will not be included in calculating turnout percentages.

Past Results

Additional information about past presidential general elections is available here. If you are comparing precinct results and turnout, please note that precinct lines were different in elections prior to 2012.


We will post a summary of grand totals in contested races, and another page with results by precinct (absentee results by precinct and election day results by precinct, separately) for all contests. To be sure to get the latest results on Election Night, reload the page. Note that we have addressed the issues that prevented pages from being refreshed during the September 29 Coralville special election..

When will results be available?

We plan to post early voting results promptly at 9 p.m. After 9 p.m. we will update returns as quickly as they are delivered from the 57 precincts. (No, we're not saying an exact time.) Results will be reported by modem. Note that voters in line at 9 p.m. are allowed to vote, and results cannot be sent until the last voter is finished.

E-mailed Results

We will email precinct by precinct results to our regular list of news media contacts and to the addresses provided by candidates when filing. Please contact our office with any changes, additions or corrections to addresses. Format and layout will be the same as the returns page on the web site.

Number of Precincts Reporting

Our precincts reporting numbers on Election night will list 58 precincts for this election. This includes 57 election day precincts, plus early voting.

All contests will list 58 precincts except state legislative races.

NOTE: Our office will only have returns from Johnson County. Contact Secretary of State for district and state level results.

Number of Johnson County precincts in state legislative districts:

  • House District 73: 8 (6 Johnson County election day precincts, one partial precinct plus absentee).
    District 73 also includes all of Cedar County and the city of Wilton in Muscatine County.
  • House District 74: 14 (11 election day precincts, two partial precincts, plus absentee). Whole district in Johnson County.
  • House District 77: 19 (17 election day precincts, one partial precinct, plus absentee). Whole district in Johnson County.
  • House District 85: 12 (11 election day precincts plus absentee). Whole district in Johnson County
  • House District 86: 14 (12 election day precincts, one partial precinct, and absentee). Whole district in Johnson County.

Note that five precincts (Iowa City 24, North Liberty 2 and 3, Hills, and West Lucas) are divided between two legislative districts. In all cases, almost all of the precinct is in one district and only a very small part of the precinct (listed as "partial precinct" above) is in the other district.

Johnson County's three state senators were elected to four year terms in 2018 and are not on the ballot in 2020.

When are the results final?

Once the poll workers have returned their supplies to our office, our staff will review the printouts from the voting machines and make any corrections. Once all corrections are made, results will include the heading "Final Election Night Results." These will be the last returns posted on November 3.

Vote totals will change in the days following the election as provisional ballots and late arriving absentee ballots with timely postmarks are counted. Ballots postmarked by Monday, November 2 and received by noon Monday, November 9 will be counted.

All election results are unofficial until the canvass of votes, conducted by the Johnson County Board of Supervisors on Tuesday, November 10. Following the canvass, results will include the heading "Official Canvassed Results." These results will remain on our site permanently as a historic record. Past election returns

Elections Office
Phone: 319-356-6004

Elections Deputy
Bogdana Velterean

Johnson County Auditor’s Office
Administration Building
913 S. Dubuque St. Suite 101
Iowa City, IA 52240

Phone: 319-356-6004
Fax: 319-356-6086

Office Hours
Monday – Friday
7:45 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.

Bus Route
(Lakeside or Broadway bus routes)

Facbook Icon Twitter Square Icon Instagram Icon